Arizona Field Trip

What, where and when…

Internationally renowned Observatories, Planetaria, Biospheres, Space Museums, International experts, mirror making facilities (for VERY BIG mirrors), museums, are all on the agenda for this Field Trip (and Tombstone as it is close!).   Amazing things to see, hear and learn about.

Third Year students from the BSc Observational Astronomy, Communicating Science Course @ University of South Wales (including me) will be arriving late on Friday 20th February 2015 and departing for home on 28th February.  The week in between looks to be packed with once-in-a-lifetime activities…. I invite you to explore and anticipate with me, and then follow the links to my blog to see what it was like in real life!

Here is our basic itinerary.  For further details of the places we’ll be visiting just click on the date (or use the navigation menus).

Here’s a map with the locations we’re visiting marked.

Friday 20th February 2015

Arrival in Tucson 

Saturday 21st February 2015

Recovery day exploring Tucson
 Evening: (Possible) visit to Flandau Planetarium

Sunday 22nd February 2015

Afternoon:  Biosphere2
Evening: Possibly SkyCenter, Mt Lemmon

Monday 23rd February 2015

Morning: Pima Air and Space Museum
Afternoon: Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum

Tuesday 24th February 2015

All Day : Kitt Peak National Observatory

 Wednesday 25th February 2015

Morning: Titan missile museum
Afternoon: Mt Hopkins Whipple Observatory

Thursday 26th February 2015

Morning: University of Arizona – Cosmology Lecture (Prof Don McCarthy)
followed by Steward Observatory Mirror Lab Tour
Afternoon: UoA Lunar and Planetary Lab (Jim Scotti)

Friday 27th February 2015

Morning: Kartchner Caverns
Afternoon: Tombstone

Saturday 28th February 2015

Morning: Pack, check out and travel to airport for flight home

Sunday 1st March (St David’s Day) 2015

Arrive home, sleep, and reflect on the adventure (and probably finish the blog!)